Do Animals Smirk?

It never ceases to amuse me when I hear somebody claim to know what animals think.  On Science Friday this week Dr. Temple Grandin contributed to an interesting program about Autism and how animals think and she made the rather presumptuous comment that animals think in pictures "….there’s no other way an animal could possibly think."
 
I don’t see how humans can claim to understand how or what a species we can’t communicate with in any kind of meaningful way thinks.  My dog looks at me with his head cocked to one side sometimes — he looks very inquisitive.  It’s possible that he’s wondering "What’s Dad up to?"  Or maybe he’s wondering if I’ll give him a cookie.  Or maybe he’s trying to work out the whole Palestinian situation.  The point since he can’t tell me what he’s thinking there’s no way for me to know what or how (or if) he’s really thinking.
 
-B-
This entry was posted in Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

