TriGuy is Back!

We interrupt this extensive, and some say tedious, recounting of last week’s trip to bring you a training post

After Honolulu Marathon 3 weeks ago (you remember it well, I know) I took a few days off, had ONE run, then got laid out by a cold that stopped my training.  Just as the cold subsided I took off for Boston and, honestly, I didn’t run at all during the trip for various reasons.

Yesterday, however, I decided it was time to get back in the game.  So last night I took a short, but fast, run around the neighborhood.  I’ll talk more about this in my upcoming training posts but training for L.A. Marathon will be somewhat different than training for Honolulu was.  My focus is different, I don’t have my group to train with or worry about, and my goals are different.

This morning I got on the bike and took a nice fast ride.  It felt good to glance down at my GPS and note that I was turning a pretty comfortable 22MPH.  I still have some work to do to get back into bike shape but this morning’s ride was strong and fast and I know it’s only going to get better.

This afternoon Winter League softball resumed.  My team lost, which was disappointing, but I had a good game, 4 for 4 at the plate and made several plays in the field (at 2nd base today).  Felt good running the bases and swinging the bat.  One especially nice thing…my back has been feeling good for the last few weeks.  Two massages have undoubtedly helped that situation. 🙂

Tomorrow morning – another run.

Feels good to be back on track with my training and I have a renewed optimism for L.A. Marathon.

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

