Bob & Ron’s 5K

O.K., it was a short race so this will be a short race report.  I got there, I ran, I finished.  Thanks.

O.K., O.K., I can do a little better than that.  I approached today’s race as just a speed test to see where I am.  I haven’t really been training much for speed so I didn’t expect too much.  I had race plan which was to start off quick and relaxed and gradually pick up the pace throughout the race and that is pretty much exactly what I did.  Halfway thru I was pressing the pace a little faster and for the last 3/4 of a mile I was working fairly hard and finishing fast as I’d hoped to.

Not the fastest 5K I’d ever run, but still not bad.

Just like last time I ran it I found that I started picking people off around the 1.5 mile mark and passed a few folks in the last sprint to the finish line.  I didn’t quite manage to achieve the time I was hoping for, but I was within the range of time that I’m satisfied with.  I still have some work to do, obviously, to get ready for Great Aloha Run next month if I’m going to PR there.

Acknowledgements

  • Kelly, thanks for your kind words of encouragement.  "Be the bio!"
  • Alan, great run!  3rd in your age group!  I’m proud of ya.
  • Great to see Ellen Humphrey still out there doing it.  I can only hope I’m still walking at 81 years old, much less running 5Ks.  Also good to see Limu and Team Waianae still on the course.
  • Maureen – you were the source of much inspiration this morning.  Thanks!

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

