Episode 5: Christmas

[Editor’s Note – this is sans pictures because spaces.live.com is giving me flack about how many pictures I have I guess.  I’ll try to add them back in later…]

O.K., O.K., I promised I would wrap up the Christmas trip so I guess I’d better get to it.  This is episode 5 of what I’m guessing will turn out to be a 6 episode epic.  For those of you who have bothered to read this far, I apologize.

O.K., when last we left our hero it was Christmas Eve morning and I had just arrived at my Aunt Susan and Uncle David’s house in Indianapolis right around 0900. 

I was greeted warmly at the door my Aunt who announced that she had "won her bet."  My mother arrived in the foyer just as Susan explained that she had bet my mother I’d be there before 10AM (the official start time of the festivities) while my mother had apparently bet that I’d be late. 🙂  They couldn’t recall what exactly they had wagered and I didn’t think to ask later if they had finally settled.

Throughout the next hour other family members arrived, the highlight for me being the arrival of my grandparents and Uncle Mick driven to the event by my cousin Mike, who has been really great about transporting them around when they need it.

Gabe, Ashley, my cousin Sherri and her family, and my cousin JD all arrived as well.  JD’s fiance’ Beth unfortunately couldn’t join us due to work/family obligations of her own.

The rest of the morning was spent opening presents and enjoying some delicious food (Mmmm…ham).

After lunch Mike took my grandparents and uncle Mick back to Lafayette, Ashley and Gabe headed to his folks for Christmas eve, Sherri and her family headed for home and the rest of us decided to go catch a movie.  A short drive later we were enjoying "Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story."  I didn’t expect much, but found it to actually be pretty funny.

It was nice to enjoy Christmas with the family – a too-rare experience in past years.

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

