Saturday Has Begun

O.K., quick update for the long weekend…

  • Thanks to all who sent along birthday wishes.  I really didn’t make a big deal about my birthday (thank you Shanda for not saying anything yesterday!) because I just didn’t feel like having a fuss about it.  I did get some nice cards, a couple of very surprising and pleasant phone calls, some nice e-mails and text messages and even a beautiful bouquet of roses.  It’s never a pony, but I knew that going in.  Thanks to all who thought of me, it’s appreciated.  I have some thank you cards to write.
  • One totally unexpected "birthday present" has come along in the form of surprise trip.  I’ve been given an opportunity, on June 4th, to go to Midway Island.  Yes, really.  By the way, technically Midway is an atoll.  And, of course, it was the focal point of the battle that turned the tide of World War II in the Pacific.  I’m a big WWII buff and one of the very first books I ever read was Gordon Prange’s Miracle at Midway.  Yes, June 4th is the day after I get back from San Diego, but that’s o.k.  A lot of travel but this is a once-in-a-lifetime trip and you’d better bet I’m going.  And taking a lot of photos.
  • I’m still watching a lot of Food Network though I’ve come to realize that most of what they cook is stuff I wouldn’t cook.  Omelettes, elaborate bean curd and lamb dishes, etc.  Great for foodies; sort of fun to watch, but not really practical for me.  That’s o.k.  Long as we’re talking about Food Network – Rachel Ray is adorable.  Cute, perky, bright…too bad she’s married.  🙂  (Not like I’d have a shot)
  • Speaking of food I am still enjoying watching Top Chef.  Oh, wait, I mean, I am really enjoying watching Kraft Top McCormick Chef (Brought to you by KitchenAid).  Just the other Maytag day they were making some Pam filet mignon and it really looked Corelle delicious.  Sometimes I watch the GE contestants working away in the Kenmore kitchen and I just can’t help but Campbell’s admire how I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter they are!
  • I read that too much stress can kill you.  Great, now I’m worried about it.
  • Good job to the Dutch Boy paint folks.  There’s only so much you can do with paint, really, to make it better and differentiate yourself from the competition.  So they "thought outside the box" by thinking about the box.  Specifically they came up with very clever new can that is easy to open and close, easy to pour from, easy to carry, easy to work from.  Next time I need paint I will definitely lean towards their product specifically for that reason. 
    And as a business major I have to say that I’m impressed.  It’s a really good example of understanding the issues that people have with the packaging and improving the product to address those.

What’s Ben Cooking:  Nothing too fancy right now.  I’m sort of craving grilled cheese so I’ve made a grilled cheese sandwich or two for lunch and I might experiment with twice-baked potatoes for dinner.

Today’s Workout:  I’m still not quite 100%, health-wise.  I’m going to take a short walk in a little while, and hopefully this evening I’ll feel up to a short run. San Diego is a week from tomorrow so it’s too late for any real training.  At this point my focus is on getting healthy, stretching, keeping the legs loose and trying to lose a last pound or two.  All I can do is hope for the best – the real question for San Diego will be how my stamina has held up with the near total lack of distance training over the last month.

Quote of the Day

"The best proof of love is trust."
  -Dr. Joyce Brothers-

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

