Looking Up at 200

  • Star Trek IV is probably the best of the entire series and it includes the great sequence where they have to save Checkov from "20th Century medicine".  Sort of raises the question though…if all you have to do is put a device on the patient’s forehead how much schooling do doctors really need in the 23rd century?  What does Bones really do other than complain and push a button or two on devices that cure everything?
  • This morning I weighed in…and for the first time in probably close to a decade, I’m under 200 pounds.  199.2.  Wow.  A lot of it is due to running, swimming, biking, lifting and eating better.  But the last few pounds have been due to the Dayquil diet.  Being sick I’ve lost 6 or 7 pounds which as I’ve said is the one fortuitous bit of this illness.  I am feeling a little better today, so hopefully I’ll be at full strength in the next day or so and hold onto that thru next weekend.  San Diego is one week from today.  In fact, one week from right now I should already be finished.
  • The Kanakas are on a roll…today we pulled out an all-too-exciting victory against Leftovers.  We jumped out to a big lead, got a little complacent, they came back to tie it and we had to win in extra innings.  Despite the fact that I felt lousy (the cold is not totally dead yet) I was 3 for 4 at the plate and made a few plays at second base including the first and last outs of the game – both times tracking back to catch a pop fly in shallow center field. 

    The bad news is that I didn’t feel good running the bases — it doesn’t bode well that running 60 feet is a little bit of a chore, 7 days before I have to run 26.2 miles.  But we’ll see.

Today’s Workout: We’ll see.  Softball this morning was a bit of a disappointment because I was more labored than I expected running even short distances.  At worst I’ll take a long walk, but I had hoped to take a short run.  I’m playing it hour by hour at the moment to see how I feel.

Quote of the Day:

"Where there is great love, there are always wishes."
    –
Willa Cather-

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

