It’s Late And I’m Blogging…

I should be sleeping but I want to exhaust myself first so that I don’t just lay there and think.  Don’t ask.

Restaurant Review – Rainbow Lanai

So the folks were in town last week and we did a lot of sightseeing and eating out.  Some of the places we ate were great (Mariposa!) and some were not so great.  The last place we ate before I took them to the airport was the Rainbow Lanai at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

The hostess greeted us and was warm and friendly.  The location was nice and validated parking was free. It was fairly pleasant until we actually sat down.  Our waiter was friendly but not terribly fast – surprising as the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy at the time.  Generally I tend to lay that on the back of the house, but he was even slow with the drinks which made me think it wasn’t entirely the kitchen at fault.  We ordered sodas and iced tea so it shouldn’t have been a big challenge, but a minute or so after we ordered I went to the Men’s room and when I returned, several minutes later, I was surprised to see that the drinks still hadn’t arrived.

The menu is broad and they have a fairly large buffet for $34.  Dad had the buffet and, with a shrug, admitted that it was "buffet food."

I ordered the New York Steak with mashed potatoes and mom ordered a hamburger (she’s mostly vegetarian these days but makes exceptions on occasion).

The steak was a fine example of relative value.  It was $38 but it certainly didn’t taste like a $38 steak – honestly it tasted like a Sizzler steak.  The steak was cooked well and plated nicely so whomever made it apparently knows how to cook, but it seemed to be a very cheap cut of meat with almost no fat (important for flavor) which made it fairly bland.  And despite the scattering of peppercorns on the plate the steak itself was not well seasoned.  I think I could have gotten a better steak at Outback Steakhouse for a few dollars less.

Speaking of the peppercorns, they had a tendency to roll into the mashed potatoes and to be honest it was fairly unpleasant to be partway thru a mouthful of mashed potatoes and suddenly encounter a peppercorn – which was a little sharp and harsh in flavor and texture.

The vegetables on the plate were fine – though they required a little seasoning as well.

For dessert I gave a nod to a dear friend by ordering the cobbler.  It’s a banana-mango cobbler with vanilla ice cream on it and was the highlight of the meal for me.  It was actually quite good; the fruit was nice, the ice cream was good, the cobbler "crust" was warm and good.

Overall I’d give Rainbow Lanai about a 3.5 out of 10.  The food was mediocre and overpriced (welcome to Waikiki!), the service was friendly but not very efficient and the decor of the restaurant seemed a little too much like patio furniture for a restaurant where dinner for 3 is easily going to approach $100.

Fitness

Two weeks of travel and guests have really set my fitness back.  I haven’t been working out much and I’ve been eating out A LOT.  No surprise that I gained a few pounds back.  So it’s nice to be back in my own routine.  Went for a short-course run last night, and today did some core strength work and stretching.  I’ll be running again tomorrow and hopefully each day for the rest of this week as I start to build back up.

Quote of the Day

"Often people attempt to live their lives backwards; they try to have more things, or more money, in order to do more of what they want, so they will be happier.  The way it actually works is the reverse.  You must first be who you really are, then do what you need to do, in order to have what you want. "

-Margaret Young-

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

