Hawaii…it’s Like a Whole Other State!

At 6:15AM this morning my phone rings.  Luckily I was already up because I got up stupid-early to work out, but I didn’t really feel like talking to strangers at that hour and my caller ID said "No Caller ID" so I let it go to voicemail.  An hour later my phone rings again; again "No Caller ID".  This time I’m in my den catching up on e-mail so I decided to answer it.  "This is Ben." I said, like I do.

"Good afternoon, may I speak to Ben Score?" the chipper female voice said.  "Well, it’s 7:15 in the morning here and this is Ben" I replied, suddenly regretting not letting it go to voicemail.  There was a long pause as she tried to grasp that "7:15 in the morning" means that not everybody she’s calling is east of Iowa, and then she launched into reading her script, offering me a free subscription to CIO Magazine.  I let her finish, then politely declined. 

First of all I get too many magazines already; my reading stack goes most of the way towards the ceiling and I rarely make a dent in it.  Secondly I’m not that favorably inclined to a so-called technology magazine that can’t figure out time zones.

Thanks Sprint

I’m about thisclose to dumping Sprint as our corporate phone provider.  Their customer service isn’t that great but the real issue is that the coverage here at my house is terrible.  I’m lucky to get 1 or 2 bars in my house; I have to go upstairs to my guest room to get any semblance of reliable connection.  You can tell the people in my neighborhood who have Sprint by the way – when I go for my evening runs I often see a one or two people sitting out on their front porch talking on their cell phones.  It’s possible they wanted some privacy or thought they’d enjoy a pleasant Hawaiian evening, but I suspect that most of them have to go out there to get a decent signal.

I could go out on my front porch I suppose, but lately my neighbor’s noisy teenagers and their friends have been holding court out there in the evenings.

Ballroom BlingHawaii 013

A couple of weeks ago I was invited to attend a ballroom dance event at the Sheraton Waikiki.  Cat, Dawn and some new friends were there along with a couple of hundred ballroom dance enthusiasts. Far from being slow and boring the music was uptempo, the dancers were great and everybody seemed to be having a great time.

Interested?  There is a much larger community of ballroom dancers in Hawaii than you might expect.

Today’s Workout Plan

Today is a gym day and a run day.  For the gym it’s weights (back and biceps today) and swimming.  I’ve been trying to swim at least 2-3 times a week; I’m keeping an eye on next year’s triathlon season.  For the run…I’ll try to do another 5.5, as I did on Tuesday night; we’ll just have to see how my legs feel.

Random Stuff

  • Don’t tell SteveB but for the last few weeks Firefox 3.0 has been my default web browser.  TIP: If you’re going to use Firefox be sure to add the IE Tab Add-in for those occasional websites that require IE to work properly.
  • Cat comes home today after more than a week visiting family on the mainland.  I think that means there is more yoga in my near-future.
  • Facebook has a new look and despite a lot of hand-wringing from folks…I’m fine with it.

Quote of the Day

"Americans will put up with anything provided it doesn’t block traffic."
           
Dan Rather-

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

