Welcome 2009

A few thoughts for the new year…

  • When making chocolate chip cookies there are certain steps that shouldn’t be skipped.  Such as "mix the ingredients from the small bowl into the large bowl."  Trust me, when you leave two major ingredients out of the dough the results are hard to describe as "cookies".
  • A little light rain on New Year’s Eve is a good thing.  Just ask any fireman.
  • I’ve given myself a day or two off from running.  My right knee is feeling a little sore and I figured maybe it would be better to rest it.  Tomorrow morning I’m planning to get up and hit the 7 mile course again.  Sunday I’ll try to do a long run of 12-15.  One minor setback I had was taking another look at my pacing chart…I had thought I needed to average 12:44 to reach my goal time in Phoenix.  Actually I need 12:23.  Only 21 seconds, I know, but that’s 21 seconds PER MILE and cuts a bit into my cushion.  I figured if I was running 12:15s for a while that I’d be banking nearly 30 seconds per mile in case things got tough later in the race.  Actually I’ll only be banking about 8 seconds per mile, which really isn’t much.
  • I’m working on accepting that there are some things in my life I just can’t change no matter how much I want to.  There are other circumstances or other people involved and I don’t have the power to just make things be the way I want them to be.  So I’m going to try and focus more on the things I CAN control and hopefully things will work out. 
  • Two facts about my pasta salad
    • 1. The recipe.  Easy enough.  Make about a pound of pasta – I generally use a rotelle of some kind.  Cool it quickly with cold water.  Add in chopped red peppers, sliced carrots, sliced green olives, shredded mozzarella cheese, some capers and toss it all with a little Kraft Light Zesty Italian dressing.  I’ve played around with adding broccoli, sauteed mushrooms and other things and they’ve generally been fine; do what you like.
    • 2. If you don’t cover it tightly it can dry out a bit in the fridge overnight.
  • One of the things Jill said she liked about me was that I don’t "keep score."  I found out last night that it’s sometimes useful to keep score though…when I inadvertently gave a friend the same gift I gave her two or three years ago.  Hmmm.  Guess I must really want her to have that if I gave her two of them!

 

 

Quote of the Day

"You cannot have a proud and chivalrous spirit if your conduct is mean and paltry; for whatever a man’s actions are, such must be his spirit."
         Demosthenes

 

-B-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

