Quick Update: Race Schedule

O.K., so here’s an update on the races I have coming up…

October 17, 2010 – Ironman 70.3 Austin, TX.   I had a good race at Kona this year and wanted to back it up with another good 70.3 race.  Unfortunately my training has got totally into a hole with this move, but I’ll get it back on track and I plan to hit the ground running (and biking and hopefully swimming) when I arrive in Flagstaff next week.  It’ll be interesting to see what 6 weeks of high altitude training does for me.

March 20th, 2011 – Los Angeles Marathon.  Love the new course and looking forward to a return to the race where I once set a PR in the marathon.  Plus a nice spring marathon plays well into my overall training plan.  I need to be getting marathon running mileage because of the next two events.

May 21st, 2011 – Memorial-Hermann Ironman Texas.  The 140.6, yes the big one.  2.4 mile swim, then a 112 mile bike then a 26.2 mile run.  Then a funeral.  My first attempt at the 140.6 distance.

November 2011 – Ironman Arizona.  Yes, another full Ironman, roughly 6 months after IM Texas.  It’ll be a great challenge and it’s sort of my “home race” now since Tempe (where the race is held) is just a 2 hour drive from my new home.

I’m still looking for a December/January marathon to do.  Had planned to do P.F. Chang’s Rock-n-Roll Arizona again but it looks like I’ll be coaching the Team in Training group from Flagstaff for that event and that means I’ll probably have other responsibilities during the race that will prevent me from actually running it myself.

That’s it for now…more quick updates in the coming days.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

